Friday 14 August 2020
  • :
  • :

Guitar Improvisation Masterclass | Module One Lesson 2

Click to enrol for the full programme –

totally FREE – no marketing or hype – just great content.

Guitar Improvisation Masterclass | Module One Lesson 2

This is the second lesson in Module One of my guitar improvisation Masterclass. I strongly advise you to sign up for this as a complete programme, as much of the material I offer FREE is not included here on YouTube.

In this particularly lesson I start to explore how basic diatonic scales are constructed, and why most scales contain sharps or flats. In Lesson 1 of the guitar improvisation masterclass I showed you how a basic diatonic scale is constructed – with intervals being either a whole tone or a half tone between notes.

I then went on to show you how a scale could be created, with each note of the diatonic scale as a starting point. So I first showed how to create a D minor scale. I then gave you an assignment – to create scales starting on E, F, G, A and B.

In this lesson I review what you did in the assignment. I then go on to explain the cycle of fifths, and proceed to show how the scale of G is created, and exactly why the not of F has to be sharpened (F#).

I then explain the cycle of fourths, and demonstrate how the scale of F is constructed. I show you exactly why the note of B has to be flattened to B flat (Bb).

Then the assignment in this lesson in the guitar improvisation masterclass is for you to use the cycles of the fifth and the fourth to create all remaining scales – nine in total.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *